New UN nuclear weapons ban treaty: Open for signature by governments starting today


On 7 July 2017, 122 States voted to adopt the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons – a landmark international agreement that outlaws, categorically, the worst weapons of mass destruction and establishes a pathway to their elimination. Pax Christi International has together with other NGOs been advocating for this new historic treaty.

The treaty will be open for signatures to all states at UN Headquarters in New York on 20 September 2017 during the High-Level Segment of the 72nd Session of the United Nations General Assembly.

  • Time: 8.00 am – 10.30 am EST
  • Venue: Trusteeship Council Chamber, UNHQ, New York
  • Live broadcast:

The treaty will enter into force ninety days after it has been ratified by at least 50 countries. After signing, the process of confirmation usually requires parliament approving the treaty and bringing into national law. You can find more information about the treaty in our Q&A.

Pax Christi International strongly encourages all governments to sign the Treaty on 20 September and has asked its member organisations to send letters to their governments. Following, it will be important to celebrate all who sign early and keep working so states which can sign eventually do it sooner rather than later and find ways to raise the ban constructively with its opponents.




Advocacy Priority: Nuclear weapons ban treaty



nuclear weapons ban treaty